New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Nkurenkuru councillors vow to deliver

Nkurenkuru councillors vow to deliver

2020-12-07  Staff Reporter2

Nkurenkuru councillors vow to deliver
Top of a Page

Elizabeth Hiyolwa 

NKURENKURU – The newly elected councillors of the Nkurenkuru local authority have vowed to bring services closer to the people. The new leadership was sworn-in by magistrate Barry Mufana last week. 
Jafet Markus Muti was elected mayor of Nkurenkuru and will be deputised by Fani Kaundu. Angelius Liveve was elected as chairperson of the management committee, while Robert Katura and Leena Tjihwisa will serve as members of the management committee. 

Councillors Andreas Katanga and Agatha Muhepa will serve as ordinary council members. The new mayor indicated together with his team; they aim to ensure they deliver service to the 

“As a new mayor, some of my goals are to bring service close to the residents of Nnkurenkuru town, like roads, water, electricity, sewerage and to give land to people (business or residential), especially the youth,” Muti said. 
He further indicated to resolve the issues of unemployment; there is a need to bring in developers (outside or inside the town) to develop Nkurenkuru – and in the same vein, create the much-needed jobs. 
He called for cooperation between different stakeholders. 

“We are going to have an open door policy where we want to engage different ministries, office of the governor, Kavango West Regional Council, business people, residents and other stakeholders to hold hands together. This is the only way we can develop this town,” he emphasised. 

The new team said they will continue from where the previous leadership ended, with residential erven and road improvements high on the agenda. 
Swapo retained all seats on the Nkurenkuru council following the 25 November 2020 election.

2020-12-07  Staff Reporter2

Tags: Khomas
Share on social media
Bottom of a page